Overestimating The Power of Big Data

I like this article because it points out what I have been hypothesizing for a long time: the tech scene is overestimating the power of big data.

I think we are a long way from knowing what each person wants exactly. In fact, there’s nothing that’s even close to that. Amazon’s recommendation, in my opinion, is the best one, but it’s very limited and narrow. There are plenty of big data promises that have not materialized: Color, Twitter, bit.ly etc.

I think big data will be very useful in a narrow application, such as Siri, Google, or Amazon’s recommendation. All three of these amaze me sometimes.

Leave a Reply

